1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z


The Center for Information on European Institutions is the official relay for information from the European Union. As part of the network "Europe Direct," the center's mission is to inform the public about the European Union and all the other European institutions in Strasbourg.

Club Europe was created in 2003 by the CIIE, and is a way to get interested Europeans to share their knowledge with other citozens. Club Europe consists of volunteers who travel throughout Alsace providing stimulating presentations and opening discussions on key issues affecting the European Union (in high schools, middle schools, and elementary schools in particular). With more than 100 members, Club Europe presents nearly 400 projects per year.


The Committee of Ministers is the decision-making body of the Council of Europe. It is composed of the foreign ministers of its Member States or their permanent representatives in Strasbourg. The MC meets at a ministerial level once a year in May or November. These sessions are usually held in Strasbourg and last anywhere from a day to two and a half days. These meetings are usually devoted to political dialogue and the Ministers may discuss all matters of common interest, with the exception of national defence issues. The delegate ministers, meanwhile, meet once a week in Strasbourg.

The CoR represents the interests of regionals within the Member States of the European Union. It is a consultative body of the EU, whose role is to make known local and regional views on European legislation. The CoR must be consulted by the EU institutions in areas such as economic and social cohesion, health, education and culture. It may also adopt opinions on its own initiative. The CoR has 353 members (city and regional politicians), coming from 28 member states and has its headquarters in Brussels, where it holds 6 plenary sessions per year to set and adopt its policies.
The Commissioner for Human Rights is an independent institution within the Council of Europe. Its mission is to promote awareness and respect for human rights in the 47 states of the Council of Europe and help them implement the standards in this area. In May 1999 the Committee of Ministers adopted a resolution that establishes the function.

The role of the Committee for Petitions of theEuropean Parliament,composed of 64 members, is to receive complaints from citizens, investigate, and report on how EU legislation is applied in member states. Any citizen of the Union or any person residing in a member state can present the European Parliament, individually or collectively, with a petition concerning a matter within an area of jurisdiction of the European Union and of direct concern.


Created in 1994, the CLRAE is an advisory body to the Council of Europe. It is composed of 636 members and their representatives. Intended to represent both the local community and the regional authorities, it consists of two chambers: the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. Its major work is the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1985. It is not to be confused with the Committee of Regions, a consultative body of the EU.


The Council of Europe is the oldest intergovernmental organization in Europe. It includes 47 countries and more than 820 million Europeans. The Council of Europe was established on May 5, 1949 by 10 European states in order to promote unity between its members, based around three key themes which are the protection of human rights, the defense of democracy and the rule of law. It is totally independent of the European Union, but collaborates with it in some areas. The Council of Europe has its headquarters in Strasbourg, France.


The Council of the European Union (also known as the “Council” or the “Council of Ministers”) is the main decision making body (legislative organ) of the European Union. It defends the interests of the member governments of the EU and not the general interest of the Union. Ministers from member governments create legislation by adopting the proposals of the European Commission and more often now, in conjunction with the Parliament. The Council is presided over in turn by each member state of the European Union for a period of six months (from January to June, and from July to December), according to a pre-established order. The Council of the EU has its headquarters in Brussels.


The Convention on the Future of Europe was suggested in 2002 to initiate a debate on the future of the European Union. Inspired by the assembly used for the preparation of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the EU, the Convention has involved all stakeholders in the debate on the future of EU: national parliaments, EU institutions, political media, economic, academic and public opinion. After 15 months of work, the convention, composed of 105 people and chaired by Valery Giscard d'Estaing proposed a Constitutional Treaty in June 2003, which ended in failure in 2005.