1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z



Since 1983, the EU has choosen a theme of action each year to educate the widest possible audience and to direct the attention of the governments of the Member States to a particular issue, in order to change attitudes or behaviours throughout Europe. The topics are chosen several years in advance by the European Commission, which is responsible for its implementation. The years are similar to European campaigns and are subject to awareness campaigns both at a European and national level.


The ECB, which opened in June 1998, is in charge of money policy in the Euro area. Its main task is to maintain price stability and preserve the purchasing power of the Euro. Its headquarters are in Frankfurt, Germany. The ECB is an institution of the European Union in the strictest sense.


Created in 1958 by the signing of the Treaties of Rome, the EIB is an institution of long-term financing for the European Union. Through its loans, the EIB contributes to the integration, the economic and social cohesion, and the balanced development of the Member States of the EU. Its headquarters are in Luxembourg.

ERNEST BEVIN (1881-1951)

A British politician and a member of the Labor Party, in 1945 Ernest Bevin became the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs in the Office of Labor, under the leadership of Clement Attlee. On May 5, 1949, E. Bevin delivered the opening speech at the signing of the Treaty of London which created the Council of Europe. It was he who proposed that the head of this institution should be established in Strasbourg.


Created in 1995 and based in Strasbourg, the CEES is the European Center of the National Administration School (ENA). The Center’s primary mission is to educate employees about Europe, its policies and its regulations. The training offered by the CEES is directed towards employees of the public sector, the private sector, as well as towards local and regional politicians.


The EYCS is a permanent structure of the Directorate of Youth and Sports of the Council of Europe and is responsible for implementing policy and programs aimed at the Council of Europe’s youth. The EYCS is an international center for training, meeting and education. It provides a framework conducive to holding international activities. There is a structural counterpart in Budapest, Hungary.


Established by the Treaty of Maastricht in 1992 and supplemented by the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997, the citizenship of the Union complements, but does not replace, national citizenship. It aims to promote citizens' identification with the EU. European citizens have the rights associated with citizenship guaranteed by the EU Treaties, such as the right to work, study or vote in European and local elections while in the territory of another Member State. European citizenship is restricted to nationals of the Member States of the EU.


The EESC is responsible for the various categories of economic and social policy. Where appropriate, consultation by the European Commission or the EU Council of the EESC is mandatory (such as for social questions or matters of public health), but the Committee may also issue opinions where it sees fit. Composed of 353 members, the EESC has its headquarters in Brussels.


The European Commission is one of 5 institutions that make up the European Union. It has a central role, defending the general interest of the EU, with a monopoly on initiative, and is the guardian of the EU treaties. It can be considered the central administration of the Community. The work of the Commission is done by 28 Commissioners (one per member state) assisted by 30,000 officers and agents. The Commission is guided by a president who is named by the European Council and reports to the European Parliament. The current president is the former Prime Minister of Luxembourg, Jean-Claude Juncker, elected in 2014.


The EEC was an international organization founded in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome to complete the economic integration of Europe. The objective of the EEC was to create a large common market in Europe with free movement of people and good in all member countries. When the European Union was created with the signing of the Treaty of Maastricht in 1992, the EEC was incorporated into the first pillar of the EU.